Browse Category: Social Media Marketing

social-media-stories

The Ultimate Guide to “Social Media Stories”

“Social media stories” are a bit weird compared to regular content. For one, they don’t show up directly in users’ feeds by default. If somebody needs to look at the stories you produce, they need to manually access them.

Completely different apps and sites have other ways of displaying new story notifications; as an example, Instagram has icons of users who have created stories on the highest, and users will faucet them to examine the stories.

Secondly, any stories you are doing create aren’t around forever! Only to 24 hours, the stories automatically delete themselves.

This is often what makes stories a bit a lot of distinctive than regular standing updates –their lack of length suggests that they match a distinction niche than traditional updates.

Evolution of Stories

Stories are nothing new social media however with 3 of the massive boys battling it out at the highest we tend to thought we might take a fast look into however Stories have evolved over the years. Facebook, Snapchat and Instagram all enable the user to post their stories however who was first?

1. Snapchat

The Stories format for sharing content was 1st introduced into the social media landscape by Snapchat in 2013 that permits users to make up chains of content that might be viewed a limitless quantity of times over a 24-hour amount.

At the time, most media shops treated the medium as a brand new kind of video selfie: it had been considered a neat format that was clearly personal in its presentation, however on the far side that, most critics felt love it was simply means|a method} to save lots of Snaps in an exceedingly a lot of permanent way.

Sound familiar? Snapchat engineered their entire platform around this idea and it had been Instagram and Facebook who set to adopt the thought.

2. Instagram

In 2016 Instagram launched their version of stories that borrowed heavily from Snapchat. Instagram Stories allowed users to own an area to be within the moment and a touch additional fun amidst their regular posting of extremely structured, edited and formed photos. All stories lasted 24-hours and were engineered of video and pictures.

Around this point, some brands had already begun to adopt the Stories feature approach to promoting, however, most of those tries were extremely ad-driven—short, intrusive spots that centred additional on a product than revealing one thing new concerning the complete itself. In 2012 Facebook purchased Instagram.

January 2017 Instagram declared that they had one hundred fifty million user posting stories daily and as a result of this the Instagram extended adverts for his or her Story users.

3. Whatsapp

In February 2017 Whatsapp (another Facebook company) launched standing that allowed for sharing of GIFS, Photos, and Videos for a 24-hour amount.

4. Facebook

Finally, in March 2017, Facebook launched stories within the main Facebook Mobile App. This allowed users to share videos and photos from Facebook’s new camera.

5. Messenger 

Finally, in March 2017, Facebook launched traveler Day that permits you to share videos and photos as and once happen throughout your day.

Later in Gregorian calendar month Facebook rebrand as “Messenger Stories” The electronic communication app permits you to play games, send cash to friends and currently transfer stories – these are photos, videos, and text telling the story of a happening, be it an evening out, a visit to the board game or a vacation abroad.

6. Youtube

Youtube, the undisputed king of video, And currently its youtube World Health Organization simply launched its own wrestle Stories with a brand new video format referred to as ‘Reels.’

Reels is accessible to any Youtuber World Health Organization has over 10,000 subscribers (now you have got even a lot of incentive to grow your channel!).

The thought behind Reels is to permit creators to share content while not having to make a full video. For several creators, making full videos will take weeks! You have got to set up, film, edit, refine, then publish. Such a big amount of creators solely post once or double per week at the most.

Reels takes the pressure off making good, long-form content. Rather than making 10-minute options, Reels are solely thirty seconds long.

Very similar to Instagram Stories and Snapchat, you’ll add text, filters, stickers, and music to create the video actually your own.

There is lots of information that proves that social media Stories square measure following massive issue for marketers. Here is a few of it that you simply ought to bear in mind of:

social-media-stories

(i) 57% Female, forty-eighth Males and sixty-one teenagers (18-24) within the U.S. use Snapchat Stories.

(ii) 52% Male and forty-third feminine within the U.S. use of Instagram Stories.

(iii) There’s a mean of thirty-five .5% active users worldwide sharing their Instagram.

(iv) 7% of Facebook’s users share their recordings through Facebook Stories.

There square measure 450M daily active users on Snapchat, Instagram Stories, and WhatsApp standing combined.

The most well-liked varieties of Stories for a whole on Instagram square measure Merchandise content, stories that offer associate degree “Inside Look” involving a Guest Takeover or showcasing a happening.

Additionally, social media Stories square measure growing in quality and then, new options square measure intercalary unendingly.

Recently, Snapchat proclaimed it’d “allow users to share Stories to their coupled social media accounts or through text or email with a link to a webpage wherever those that do not have the app will read the message.”

This is often expected to spark new growth within the Stories quality across platforms.

Ephemeral Content Marketing Strategies with Ephemeral Stories

Are you ready to jump in? Here are some creative ideas on how to get the most of the social media Stories (Ephemeral Stories) whether you are planning to create them for Instagram, Facebook, WhatsApp or Snapchat to build your brand online.

social-media-stories-ephemeral-marketing-ephemeral-stories

1. Get Interactive

There are a variety of highlights you’ll be able to integrate into a story post to create them additional exciting and additionally engaging.

Besides tagging and @-mentioning others, Instagram has new options like polls and queries that you simply will augment a Story post. Raise followers to vote for his or her favourite or get them to send you a brief text reply to a matter.

You can conjointly tag stories with a location, repost alternative Instagram posts as a Story (which sends followers to it post if they swipe up), and obtain followers to send you an instantaneous message in response to a Story.

The latter could be a good way to solicit feedback from followers, and conjointly build your Stories additional interactive.

2. Add Links to Your Social Media Stories

Social media Stories aren’t solely concerning having fun. Marketers, naturally, even have to consider sales. The best thanks to increasing the traffic of your website and boost conversion rates are by adding a link to your Story.

Instagram and Snapchat enable users to introduce links in Stories, supplying you with the chance to market your merchandise, newsletters or alternative merchandise.

social-media-stories-links

 

An additional tip is to use an URL shortener like  Bit.ly or Capsulink for your links. That way, you may be able to access elaborate click analytics and measure the success of your content.

3. Take Advantage of Snapchat Geo-Filters

A Geo-Filter is associate degree overlay image that Snapchat users will place on their photos or videos taken at a selected location.

Victimization Geo-Filters is an efficient thanks to interacting with your audience and enhance their expertise along with your complete.

In addition, as user-generated photos and videos square measure shared online, it’s additionally a wonderful chance to spice up awareness of your complete.

Snapchat-Geofilters

One of the primary brands to use branded Geo-Filters was McDonald’s. They allowed users to feature a filter of a burger and fry graphic on their photos once they’re just about a McDonald’s building.

For instance, on Instagram Stories, some location searches have a story icon that permits users to look at recent stories that have used the actual location sticker. This is often an excellent thanks to facilitating your completely get discovered regionally.

4. Add mentions (@) for other brands and your fans 

Another attention-worthy feature of Instagram Stories is that the chance to say, alternative users.

For brands, this can be an excellent thanks to provides a shoutout to individual audience members for exploitation your complete, taking part during a contest or just thanking them for being a loyal fan.

The mention can produce a pop-up notification, showing the mentions to your followers. The person you’ve mentioned, in turn, can receive a notification.

Mentions-social-media-stories

Just like regular posts, you’ll be able to @-mention users in your Stories. Thus use it! A part of the facility of social media is creating connections and lavishing attention on others, and your followers can love being mentioned in your Stories.

5. Give the Live Video a Try When Creating Stories

A live broadcast will create your whole appear “more real” for the users. Live stories change users to examine, like, and comment in real-time.

This, in turn, creates a way of community and happiness. The live video format will increase the legitimacy of your messages and can bring the audience engagement to ensuring level.

social-media-stories-live-video

6. Invite Followers to Explore More with Clear Call-To-Actions

Adding a call-to-action (CTA) could be a good way to encourage your audience to try to do one thing when they need seeing your content.

Moreover, while not a particular CTA, your followers’ default reaction, presumably, is going to be to continue swiping to consequent post.

Consistent with Kissmetrics, CTAs among videos generated 380% a lot of leads than CTAs on a sidebar or web site.

Thus, if you employ Stories to prompt your followers to go to your web site or explore a brand new product, your sales ought to increase consequently.

7. Repost from Other Channels

As we have a tendency to mentioned, Stories tend to be terribly similar from social media network to network. Nothing is stopping you from cross-posting a Story you’ve created for Snapchat on Instagram, or vice-versa.

social-media-stories-cross-posting

Facebook even has constitutional Story sharing from Instagram, that makes cross-posting straightforward and painless.

It’s conjointly doable to save lots of a snapshot post as a video that you simply will then re-post on Instagram and Facebook. Therefore if you needed to share Stories between those sites, it’s conjointly straightforward.

Another advantage of reposting your content on alternative channels is that you simply square measure sure to maintain consistency in your posts from one network to a different.

Consistency is significant if you wish to create consumers’ trust.

8. Text-Only Stories

Instagram recently further the power to possess text-only Story posts. This is often an excellent thanks to integrating additional text content into a sequence of Story posts to assist tie them along or to inform a short story in words instead of footage.

Many brands using text-only Story posts with #hashtags and different links to assist propel a narrative forward, make a case for a brand new technique or teach followers one thing, and lots of different things.

9. Story Highlights

Did we say that Stories are ephemeral? This can be true, however, if you have got a specific Story that you simply wish to stay around for extended, currently you can!social-media-stories-highlights

Story highlights remain your profile as long as you wish, which supplies you a great deal of flexibility. Besides “pinning” a Story thus it doesn’t disappear once twenty-four hours, you’ll use Highlights to form a straightforward story.

You’ll in all probability wish to use this feature strategically, and not overwhelm your profile with a great deal of highlighted stories.

Whether it’s the flexibility to edit and manipulate pictures or letter of invitation to form a brand-related image or story, passing promoting ways to invite the user to act on a brand’s behalf.

Wrapping Up

Stories are still a comparatively new medium on social media, thus this is often the most effective time to start out capitalizing on all they provide.

Stories represent a brand new and exciting thanks to gift content, run selling, and advertising campaigns, and move together with your social media followers.

Whether you’re a tiny small business, a start-up, or a longtime complete, Stories ar fastly changing into the de-facto thanks to reaching your customers with quick, easily-digestible bits of content.

Stories will provide a nice twist to your selling methods providing new ways that to push flash sales, discount codes, gift exclusive content or produce publicity before the upcoming event.

Keep your eyes open and sit up so far with the most recent options and trends for Stories and make your brand stand out online.

How to Build a Successful Social Media Marketing Strategy?

Social media has become part of our lives. People spend a lot of time on social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc.

Social media sites have completely changed the way customer interacts with brands. No business can underestimate their power when it comes to building relationships, generating leads and sale of the product.

A good social media presence not only helps a business achieve its goals and objectives but also helps them build a strong relationship with their customers.

Social media marketing strategy is a guide to your actions on social media channels. It covers everything you want to do and hope to achieve the best from social media. So today we are going to discuss how to build a successful social media marketing strategy.

How to Build a Successful Social Media Marketing Strategy?

1. Audit Your Present Social Media Strategy

Image source-Pixabay
Social Media Audit

The first step towards building a successful social media strategy is to audit your present strategy. This will help you a lot in building your new strategy. Ask yourself the following questions:

  1. Which platforms have worked for you in past?
  2. Which platform has given you the highest engagement?
  3. What types of post are being liked by your audience?

The answers to these questions will help you understand what is working and what is not working for you. This will save you efforts and resources which you can utilize somewhere else.

2. Set Your Goals

Image Source - Pixabay
Set your goals

Goals play an important role in crafting a social media strategy. We can’t have a social media strategy if we don’t know what are the goals that we want to achieve. Goals are the roadmap to following a strategy. Whether your goal is to increase awareness of your brand, increase your blog subscribers, generate leads or increase sales. The goals you set should be SMART

  • Specific
  • Measurable
  • Attainable
  • Realistic/Relevant
  • Time-bound

Keep these points in mind while setting your goals and you will be one step closer to crafting your strategy.

3. Know Your Audience

Image source-Pixabay
Know your audience

Another thing you should do in order to build a successful social media strategy is to know who your audience is. Do research about your target audience.

Understand:

  1. Who they are?
  2. What they do?
  3. What are their interest and hobbies?
  4. Where they spend most of their time online?

This will help you in understanding your audience and help you to target them more efficiently.

4. Research About Your Competitor’s Strategy

Image source-Pixabay
Research About Your Competitors Strategy

Research about your competitor’s social media strategy. Understand what are they doing and how are they doing. Which platforms are they using? The type of posts they are posting and how frequently they are posting. This will help you understand what is working and what’s not working with your target audience. This will not only help you in targeting your audience more efficiently but will also save you a lot of money and resources too.

5. Select Your Platforms

Image source-Pixabay
Select your platforms

Once you have done all the above steps. You will have a lot of data & insights and the next thing you would do is select the platforms for your social media strategy. These must be selected very carefully as different platforms have different strengths and weakness. For example, pictures work best on Instagram and text posts work best on Facebook. Use all the data you gathered and select your platforms accordingly.

6. Create Content Calendar

Image source-Pixabay
Create Content Calendar

The next step in building your successful social media strategy is to create your content calendar. This will guide your efforts. The date and time when you will be posting, type of content you will be posting.

You can not have a great social media strategy if you don’t have a calendar. Build your calendar, set dates when you will be posting, what type of posts you will be posting, frequency of postings etc.

7. Evaluate & Refine Continuously

Image Source - Pixabay
Evaluate & Refine Continuously

Social media strategy is very important and must be evaluated and refined continuously. As you implement your strategy you will get lots of new data.

This will let you know whether your strategy is working as per your set goals or not and you can refine it accordingly. You might find that things you thought won’t work that good are actually delivering and things which you thought will deliver might be under delivering. Keep a check on your strategy and continuously refine it with the data you get.

Conclusion

Social media strategy is very important and must be defined carefully and then it should be constantly evaluated and refined as things which might work today might not work tomorrow. Keep the above points in your mind while developing it.

If you like this post leave your comments below. If you have any suggestion you can also tell me about that in the comments section too.

How Social Media Marketing is influencing the sports industry in India

There is a new wave of sports enthusiasm emerging in India. With the introduction of sports leagues like the Indian Premiere League, Indian Super League,Pro Kabaddi League,Indian Badminton League and in recent times the prestigious Under 17 Fifa World Cup being held in in our own back yard ,the future for sports in India looks bright.Due to this sudden surge in the popularity of these leagues and sporting events,Sports brands have realized that there is a huge market awaiting to be tapped in india not only for popular sports like cricket but also sports about which no one was talking about 4 years ago like Kabaddi,Football,Badminton,Hockey etc.

It used to be a challenge for a marketeer to reach a million people with the same interests ,but in today’s time a Mumbai Indians fan sitting in London can be influenced by the advertisements about their team being made in India. This has all been possible because of the popularity of Social Media marketing .Therefore in this post I will be highlighting how social media platforms like Facebook,Twitter,Instagram,Pinterest etc are influencing Sports brand and institutes in India.

1.Engagement on Media Platforms

A study conducted found that 83% of fans, while watching sports on TV , constantly access their social media and 63% access social media while watching a game,sitting at the stadium.This trend has been recognized by sports brands and have now started coming up with different strategies to engage their fans as well as promote themselves.This results in increase in traffic on the sports brands site as well as increase in the awareness about the sport in general.

For example: Pro kabaddi league team Puneri Paltan has almost a million followers .This gives the team a platform to interact with their fans,Sell merchandise,Create campaigns to engage furthermore with potential new fans thus increase their Market.

2.Blogs

Blogging has been be a great way in which clubs and teams can interact with their supporters on a personal level and reach out to more communities and sports enthusiasts .This can be done by allowing supporters and fans to write about their experiences. They can engage with bloggers, by sharing the latest happenings of the club, who can then get it out to their community of followers. This is strategy being used by ISL teams such as Bengaluru FC and Athletico de Kolkata ,to name a few,to garner more online coverage and promote their Sports team/Brand.

3. SEO for Sports Brands

SEO or “Search Engine Optimization” is the process of getting free ,organic,natural or editorial traffic onto a site from the search results on a search engine.To increase exposure and increase traffic on the website sports teams in india have started working on this,because this social media strategy is used to improve the rankings on the search engine results page. Teams succeeding in this make sure that their site link is easily accessible to the person actively searching for them and beat competition by being displayed higher on the google search page results.

4. Data Analysis

In today’s age of big data,marketeers and management are changing their approach when it comes to forming strategies.Social media platforms allow marketers to analyse the patterns which are trending thus making it easier for the Team to have a good idea of what their market segment consists of,their behavioral cycles and what strategies can be used to further engage and interact with them.

5. Content Driven Market

Photos,Videos,Posts,advertisements almost anything today can be shared through social media platform. Sports teams and brands have now realized the importance of good,easy to the eye,catchy content and how it has a huge influence on their market. People like to engage on social media by sharing content that can garner many “likes and shares”,therefore we see an increase in the quality and quantity of the content being shared by teams in order to increase engagement and increase their market share.

6. Increase in Revenue

All the above mentioned points lead to one conclusion which is “Increase in Revenue”. Since the sports team are increasing their popularity through engagement and increasing their market share , people are ready to book tickets to see their favorite team play,they buy merchandise to show support for their team,they take part in team events and share it through social media which all leads to an increase in sales therefore increasing their revenue.

 

In the end i would like to conclude this article by saying that their are more than 323 million people India using the internet and social media marketers in the sports industry should look at this as an opportunity.The future for digital marketing certainly looks attractive.

 

 

11 Effective Instagram Marketing Strategies For Beginners

11 Effective Instagram Marketing Strategies For Beginners

Instagram logo

Instagram boasts of a number of 800 million monthly active users, as of September 2017, up from 90 million in January 2013. This web-based photo-sharing mobile app is one of the most popular social networks all over the world, undoubtedly.

It possesses a huge capability for any business, as the target audience you’re trying to reach out could easily be available on this platform. Instagram happens to remain more popular with teens and youngsters, where about 40% of the global user-base is between 16 and 24 years old.

So what’s your killer strategy for Instagram? Following is a beginner’s guide for you to get going.

1) Keyword-focused profile name:

A profitable and useful tip would be changing your profile name to the keyword that you’re focusing on, related to your business/niche. It means, optimizing your account bio name for search queries.

Keywords

It is mainly because the Instagram algorithm will consider your username and actual name as the only fields that will get importance in search queries.

2) Fascinating emoticons:

You can add ’emojis’ as a bullet list in the ‘bio’ area to accentuate different components of your business, which further tells your followers about the niche that you’re talking about. Similarly, a short phrase/sentence after the emojis is able to draw much of the required attention from visitors.

Emojis

It also boosts the visual appeal of your profile to a certain extent. The bottom-line is to try displaying your creative and fun side more, instead of focussing only on formal sentences.

3) ‘About’ your profile:

As the total space in the ‘Bio’ portion is limited, owing to its 150 characters limit, choose to write constructively and precisely. Remember – ‘The first impression is the last impression’. Incorporating peculiar hobbies, interests or skills in your bio is another good trick.

When you determine the list of keywords to highlight in your bio, focus on the central importance or specific needs of your target audience. So that way, when someone sees your account name or even visits your account, he gets a fair idea of what content you’re offering and what topic it is basically about.

Having said that, referring your email address also gives you an advantage. Since it drives your followers to get in touch with you in a professional manner if required (in case the ‘comments mention’ or ‘direct message’ are missed out in the first place).

Instagram Bio example

4) The inclusion of hyperlinks:

The ‘Bio’ region is the only place on Instagram where a clickable link can be posted since there is no provision for including links in the comments section or photo captions. Even if we try to write a link in a comment or caption, it won’t be clickable. Redirecting the users to your main account’s ‘bio’ field by asking them to do so in photo captions would be advised.

You should use your ‘bio’ for indicating your website link or any landing page/capture page, or a specific product along with it’s a short description or a definite ‘Call To Action’ (CTA) button. This also helps new viewers getting identified with your business and what it offers about.

5) Care for right content:

Though it is rightly said that “Content is the King”, but on a visual platform like Instagram, one needs to check the kind of content that he plans to upload. Publishing breathtaking raw images, editing various fun-filled digital filters for photos, posting one-minute looped videos, adding locations through geotagged photographs are some of the top features that this service provides to its users.

Content is King

It would be wise to appeal more to viewers, rather than just focussing on writing. Even while writing the captions, try using succinct sentences, that resonate well with your audience. All this will be crucial in deciding whether users will follow your profile and would engage with your content or not.

6) Instagram ‘stories’:

‘Story’ section on Instagram is very powerful because it easily allows mentioning clickable ‘@’ symbol (followed by your Instagram name) to be put inside photos or short videos and get the user redirected back to your main account. Your followers have the option to replay the ‘stories’, as this feature lasts for next 24 hours and it disappears later.

Instagram LIVE

Instagram introduced this feature in August 2016.

7) ‘Live’ broadcast:

Just like the case of ‘stories’, similar is the case with Instagram ‘Live-video’ option. It can be added to your Instagram story by hitting the ‘share’ button after it has ended. Since it doesn’t have any time limitation, it’s an exceptional method to discuss your business, let people know why they should visit your account, build your audience and drive high user-engagement.

Instagram introduced this functionality in November 2016.

8) Relevant hashtags:

You can research the top hashtags that are in sync with the post that you publish on Instagram. This encourages to link up the subject/theme of the photos or videos to Instagram’s other content appearing on the same topic. Instead of using the same types of hashtags in every other post, try 4-5 group sets of different hashtags, typically 15-20 hashtags in each group.

Hashtags

When your followers get into the habit of posting with your brand hashtag, it definitely steers good amount of engagement on your posts.

9) More videos than images:

Videos for Instagram
Instead of posting only images, ‘videos’ are a great means of storytelling. So one option could be posting pre-recorded videos on Instagram (which are edited and have a logo of your business) on a regular basis on Instagram, irrespective of whether you possess a business of your own or not.

10) Stay responsive and authentic:

Responding on Instagram
Responding to your followers’ comments and following some of the important ones back is equally important on Instagram. Big brands position themselves as ‘engaging’ by appreciating present-day followers or attracting new ones by tapping on user-generated content.

11) A/B testing:

Lastly, never forget to track the efficacy of your strategies by experimenting with your available options. If a particular post on a particular day at a particular time doesn’t drive you a good number of user-engagement on Instagram, don’t hesitate to split-test by trying out multiple possibilities. It principally includes aspects like frequency of posts, the time of day that you post, popular hashtags, off-beat captions, and calls-to-action.

Owing to all these phenomenal reasons listed above, Instagram can surely be labeled as a profitable social media marketing tool. By following the above tips, one can easily transform from an ‘Insta-amateur’ to an ‘Insta-pro’.

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Reference:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Instagram

LinkedIn VS Facebook- From A Marketer’s Perspective

With the increasing number of social media platforms, as a marketer, we need to make a crucial choice of focusing our social media efforts on a limited number of platforms. This decision is vital to the existence of a brand and can make or break it as well.

In this blog post, we will discuss the difference between LinkedIn and Facebook and which platform will best help you achieve your goals and objectives.

A brief introduction of our two contestants for today:-

Facebook– People tend to spend more time on Facebook than on LinkedIn for the simple reason that it is perceived as a more ‘fun’ platform where friends are able to get together and share their thoughts and opinions over a casual post like a meme or joke. Facebook is clearly in the quantity win with over 2.07 billion monthly active users.

LinkedIn– LinkedIn, however, is a more serious platform where users log in for a specific purpose, be it recruitment, job hunting, connecting with colleagues or sharing their professional expertise on specific industry related topics. LinkedIn is far behind Facebook when it comes to the numbers game, with around 467 million members.

1. Audience Profile

Facebook– General consumers. Facebook is primarily a platform where friends and family get together to de-stress or connect with known persons. Marketers on Facebook need to keep their audience interests in mind, keeping the tone light and friendly. Create content which your audience would like to consume.

LinkedIn– Companies/organizations/businesses. LinkedIn allows users to create a professional, job-oriented profile, offering a variety of ways for a marketer to target based on seniority, job function, industry and more. Marketers on LinkedIn should keep the tone serious and professional, industry-specific and to the point. LinkedIn is primarily used by B2B businesses to connect with users in the same industry segment.

2. Analytics-

Facebook- Facebook provides real-time, built-in reports consisting data of the type of audience, their country of origin, and others ranging from likes, reach, visits, posts, people, events, videos, messages to a lot more. This data is very useful to a marketer as their job hardly ends after an advertising campaign is created. They constantly need to optimize it to achieve the best results at the lowest cost.

LinkedIn- LinkedIn does not provide extensive insights on page performance limiting to updates, interactions, clicks, impressions, reach, followers and visitors. This makes it difficult for a marketer to analyze and extract data on the performance of a LinkedIn campaign. 

3. Cost-

Facebook- Facebook gives the option to adjust how much you’re willing to pay per day (starting at Rs.40 per day), which corresponds to the number of users you reach out to. Overall, Facebook is a much cheaper option, with the average CPC of Rs. 5, being the lowest across all social media platforms. As a marketer, a lower cost is of vital importance in determining the success of an advertising campaign  

LinkedIn- LinkedIn offers a specific way to reach an audience but the cost is higher than Facebook’s. LinkedIn is said to be one of the most expensive advertising platforms in terms of average CPC of Rs.150. The minimum amount that LinkedIn will generally require you to allot for your CPC and CPM bids is Rs.100 (for either). And the minimum budget generally allotted by LinkedIn for your daily budget is Rs.500. The huge difference in cost from that of Facebook, shy away many marketers, making LinkedIn a secondary consideration. That being said, there a number of successfully launched campaigns on LinkedIn as well,  like the Volkswagen Campaign, where the results were far greater than the initial cost.

4. Branding-

Facebook- On Facebook there is a strong distinction between a user’s personal profile and a brand’s page. The content posted on a personal profile and a company’s page is completely different and unrelated. A marketer must build his company’s brand and his personal brand separately and simultaneously.

LinkedIn- On LinkedIn there is no distinction between personal and professional branding as it seamlessly integrates with each other in the form of a common profile. Through a user’s profile, it enables the audience to connect with the brand. Vice-versa if a brand posts valuable content then the employees of the brand are known as well. A marketer needs to be able to sell himself as well as his company through the use of one single profile.

5. Thought Leadership-

Facebook- Facebook is not a platform where users generally express their professional opinion but rather a light and casual conversation amongst friends. Marketers cannot hope to get their audience to pour out their expertise and insights into their industry or job.

LinkedIn- LinkedIn is the primary platform where users come together to influence others through their professional opinions. The most common place of thought leaders is LinkedIn groups where experts speak about their opinions with respect to a specific industry.

6. Marketing Objectives-

Facebook- As a marketer, Facebook provides a number of opportunities to achieve objectives such as Awareness, Consideration and Conversion but is more suitable for Direct Sales and Traffic. The level and detail of targeting on Facebook is world’s apart that of all other social media platforms, making it ideal for marketers to grow their brand.

LinkedIn- As a marketer, LinkedIn cannot be used to directly sell to your industrial buyers as users on LinkedIn login for their own personal and professional development rather than to outright buy a product or service. It will lead to a very low conversion rate and more often than not, a poor brand image.

Conclusion-

The controversy of which platform is better for marketing has been chewed over and over in the last years by marketers, entrepreneurs and bloggers.

Lately, Facebook is focusing on improving their paid marketing campaigns and continue to develop new and innovative features appealing to B2B companies and marketers alike, in a strive to reach above LinkedIn in the B2B space.

Having a deep understanding of who you are marketing to (your buyer personas) and how they use these platforms at each stage of the buyer’s journey, will enable you to become more customer-centric in your marketing.

Instead of focusing on which platform is better for your marketing strategy, simply being aware of how and when to use each on the potential journey your prospects go through before they decide to buy from you can make a dramatic shift in your marketing strategy.

 

To know more about effective ways to maximize Facebook conversions, check out ‘8 Types Of Facebook Content To Drive Engagement‘.

Image Source- Hootsuite, Pear Analytics, Pinterest, Social Media Examiner.

Facebook Vs Instagram which is best for marketing brands

                                     

Best place to do Marketing on Social Media

  • Instagram for better engagement: As compare to Facebook, Instagram has better engagement. The number of people post pictures and videos more than Facebook. In a data it was revealed that Instagram attracts more likes and comments per post than Facebook. This was especially true for small brands, and those food, fashion, travels. This shows the engagement of people is high on Instagram than on Facebook.

    average likes per post facebook instagram

  • Facebook for higher visibility and reach: When it comes to reach, Facebook has authority over Instagram. It does have only the larger user base, but also it has acceptance across most age groups. So you will have a better chance at boosting visibility using this platform. This is true if you are not targeting a specific age group.
  • Instagram is to target younger audience: Instagram appeal to younger audience. This is a best platform to target younger audience. Many brands who has its customer the younger audience target them on Instagram. A brand Harley Davidson target the younger audience that was only for men between the age group of 18-35 targeted them on Instagram and they targeted 1.4 million men in this age group in just three weeks.

  • Facebook for distributing information: It is a best place to distribute information than Instagram. You have limits on Instagram. Facebook gives you freedom to share unlimited links to your blogs and products pages. So if your objective is to promote your blog and distribute informational posts, it would be better option than Instagram.

Conclusion:- Choosing the right platform depends on what you are looking for. You have to look upon your goals and what you want to achieve from this campaign. Benefits of both the social media, Facebook and Instagram is highly subjective in nature. Different business and different audience means that what work better for you may not work well for another business. Different business have different target audience so they should choose their social media platform where they find their customers active. According to me, the best place for marketers to market their brand is Instagram because their you will find the huge audience to target. You can easily promote your business and engage with the audience.

How Apple created and captured marketing through Social Media

Apple is a American Multinational Technology Company that designs, develops and sells consumer electronic, computer softwares and online services. Apple’s first slogan, “Byte into an Apple” and the slogan “Think Different” was used in advertising campaigns. 

Apple created and captured market through Social Media:

Apple used seven market strategies to capture the market those are:

  1. Rethink the need of Advertisement: It is necessary to invest more on ads by google ans facebook when you want to increse your sales revenue. But apple doesn’t think that way, they have completely diffrent strategies:                                                                                                                                                             a. product placement through celebreties and in popular show.                                                                   b. the buzz created by positive reviews in media.                                                               Apple another strategy was to give free trails to the customers. They give free trails in exchange of positive testimonials.
  2. Avoid Price wars by Emphasing your Unique Value Propostion: Apple focuses on their UVP (unique value proposition), which is beautiful design that works right out of the box with ever-smaller packaging. It’s a marketing strategy that gets juice throughout social media and is very much a competitive advantage for Apple and its market share.How can Apple keep its fans with a pricing strategy so much higher than the competition?It’s because Apple doesn’t view PCs as competition. Where others focus on a single killer feature through a variety of content marketing, Apple focuses on the entire product, and it shows. Apple doesn’t focuses on price rather you are ready to pay something more tahn paying more in the other brand product.
  3. Keep your marketing and product simple: Apple understands that technology consumers often get overwhelmed. Overwhelm can create a confusion in a marketing mix. Apple helps reduce that consumer confusion by simplifying their web and sales copy. They completely eschew jargon or industry terms. Instead, they use simple, direct words and they continually stress the benefits that consumers absolutely need and will be thrilled by. This is part of their brilliance in content marketing; high tech without high tech terms.This approach doesn’t confuse their customers with too much information. As Leonardo da Vinci said, Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.Apple keeps it simple and their customers love it giving them a loyalty with market share that is unprecedented. Apple ads and marketing strategy doesn’t convey the specifications and features of the product rather than it focuses on how the product is useful and how it can change your living standard. Even the products themselves are kept sleek and minimal, with simple color schemes and clean, uncluttered design. The names are short and easy to remember, including the “app store” that has made third party partners huge successes.
  4. Know your audience and talk to them in their language: Apple mention their product specification and technical details of the product on therir websites. They doesn’t use the terms which the customers cannot understand, in their websites you wil find the words like edge-to-edge glass, retina display and LED backlight. Apple knows its customers and has developed loyalty in the market share. They know their customers and know the language in which they have to talk to their customers and make them comfortable instead of confusing them.
  5. Design a better customer experience: When a Apple customer buy a product they upload video in which they unwrap their new apple product which is called unboxing. Apple has created a customer experience that goes far beyond the actual purchase in a retail store. They no longer even need to be in charge of a huge part of their content marketing since their target market is doing it for them.
  6. Aim to your prospects’ Emotions: Emotional connections are the key to successful marketing strategies. It’s what makes certain stories, videos, and memes go viral. Think back to the first ads for the iPad, after its buzzy launch in 2010 and how simple their content marketing was.Remember those images of people relaxing in the living room with the strange new gadget? They looked happy and comfortable.They weren’t talking about display dimensions or processing power. They were just enjoying their iPads.Those ads, as with all of Apple’s marketing, hit their consumers where they really live – not in the pocketbook but in their hearts.
  7. Build a Community of users or customers: Apple has built one of the most hardcore fan bases for any brand, anywhere in the world. Apple has created a brand personality and culture that’s cool, fun, and friendly — the opposite of some of its competitors. Apple’s marketing strategies include making customers want to belong to that community. Their market share shows just how successful they have been. The first and most critical step to take in building a strong, vibrant and engaged community of users is to get crystal-clear on your brand values and personality. You have to create a vivid and accurate picture of your brand in your own mind first — your brand’s core message, its deeply-held values, its personality and what it stands for above all else.Then, your next step is to make sure that your pages, marketing copy and content all express those values and that personality. Every aspect of your website should be consistent with those words you chose to describe your brand, from graphics to fonts to color scheme.Last, but not least, show your readers and users you value them, as well as their opinionsLet them know that you’re deeply interested in them with your content.

    How can you do this effectively on the web? You can try any or all of the following tips to start with:

    •  Ask open-ended questions in your content.
    •  Respond to cooment on your blog posts– carry on a conversation.
    •  Try to initiate conversations with your users/readers on social media.
    •  Create a referral reward program for customers who refer other new customers.
    •  Reach out to customers with email.

    CONCLUSION: Apple as a brand take care about every single things through which they have a hold in the market. Apple on social media that is on twitter and Facebook without any advertisement has  captured the market. Apple joined Instagram where he has posted pictures shot by their product telling about the features of the product.

Apple on Twitter: https://twitter.com/Apple ( 1.5 million)

The twitter page of Apple has no tweet still have so many followers.

Apple on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/apple/?ref=br_tf

Highlights info row image
10,935,466 people like this
Highlights info row image
11,039,250 people follow this
This is how the facebook page of Apple looks. It has no posts still customers are so loyal to this brand that it has so many who likes and follow this page.
  • 96 posts
  • 3.2m followers

This is the Instagram page of Apple where they shows the shot on their Iphones and they also generate backlinks by tagging the person.

Different Ways To Increase Facebook Ads Performance

There are many social media platforms where you can advertise your business but Facebook is one of the best social media platform to advertise and to reach your audience. Approximately there are 1.609 Billion active users on Facebook and it has users from all age demographics, making it one of the most diverse social channels. There are number of ways to get your Facebook Ads work.

1. Targeting

Facebook’s advert targeting options allow you to build audiences of people who are likely to be interested in what you have to say and there are many ways through which you can do so:

  • Location: Target adverts by country, postcode, region or even the area around your business. You can reach your customers in the areas where they live or where they do business with you.
  • Demographics: The customers your business serves are on Facebook and you can choose the audience that should see your adverts by age, gender, interests and even the language they speak.
  • Interests: When people are interested in your business, they are more likely to take action on your adverts. You can choose from hundreds of categories such as music, film, sports, games, shopping and so much more to find right people for your business.
  • Behavioural and Connection: As you know your customers best, you can find your easily according to their behaviour or the type of phone they use.
Facebook Ads
Facebook Ads

2. Types of Ads

One of the most common purpose of Facebook Advertising is to generate traffic to your website. There are different types of Ads that helps brands in improving the awareness of their products. some of the types are:

  • Carousel Ads: The carousel format allows you show up to ten images/or videos , headlines and links, or calls to action in a single ad unit. Anyone who sees your ad can then scroll through the carousel cards by swiping on mobile phones or tablets or clicking the arrows on a computer screen. This format can support a variety of businesses and needs. Carousel Ads can also helps in:
  1. Showcasing specific products you sell or you own
  2. Showing details about specific products, packages or applications.
Facebook Ads
Facebook Ads
  • Dynamic Ads: Dynamic ads look exactly like other single image ads or ads created in the carousel format on Facebook, Instagram and Audience Network. It use your Facebook pixel or SDK to show ads to people who have already shown interest in your business by taking actions you care about on your site.  However, instead of individually creating an ad for each of your products, you create an ad template that automatically uses images and details from your data feed for things you’d like to advertise.
Facebook Ads
Facebook Ads
  • Offer Ads: Offer Ads encourages people to shop at your website, at you physical store or both. You can share offers that are discounts with your customers on Facebook and you can also design your offer to appear as a video or include up to 5 images that people can click through. 
Facebook Ads
Facebook Ads

3. CTR affects Ad quality 

Quality of an ad should be the first priority for the best performance of an ad and CTR is a most important to measure the quality of an ad. CTR or clicks through rate is a number of clicks received divided by number of impressions received on Ad. (If your ad received 10,000 impressions and 100 clicks then your CTR is 100/10,000 = 0.01%).

Facebook runs an algorithm to decide the quality score between your own ads and optimise to get the most value. When you launch a campaign with many ads, Facebook give all of them the same exposure in order to identify the CTR of every individual ad. Once Facebook realises which add is generating a higher CTR or have a higher quality score – these get more impressions compared to the less converting ones. Over time Facebook will stop showing ads with a lower CTR completely. The higher CTR you can achieve, the greater chance you have at winning auctions. If you create an ad in the carousel format, you can see the CTR for each carousel card within the ad. Generally, the first card in the series will get the most link clicks, but it’s not necessarily the best performing card. CTR takes into account how each card performs against other cards in the same position.

4. Retargeting

Retargeting is an effective way to increase and prove your conversion rates through Facebook ads. When someone visits your webpage say an online shopping, and browses through some pages but leaves the page without buying then the brand can retarget your customers  and can prompt the user through Facebook targeted ads. When you advertise on Facebook, you can target people who have an existing relationship with your business. This existing relationship is the basis for custom audiences, which are really remarketing or retargeting audiences.You can also create a personalized target audience through which you can retarget only a portion of traffic that has visited to your landing page earlier.

Facebook Ads
Facebook Ads

In order to start retargeting your audience you’ll need a pixel code on your website. When someone visits your website and takes an action, the Facebook pixel is triggered and reports this action. This way, you’ll know when a customer took an action after seeing your Facebook ad. You’ll also be able to reach this customer again by using a Custom Audience. When more and more conversions happen on your website, Facebook gets better at delivering your ads to people who are more likely to take certain actions. This is called conversion optimisation.

Photos: Digital Vidya Gallery

 

 

 

 

Top Social Media trends to look out for in 2018

With 2017 vying for an end, social media with its set of trends and surprises are ready for 2018. According to findings by We Are Social in 2017 social media penetration globally was around 37 percent i.e. 2.80 billion users. As you look ahead to 2018 and plan to strengthen your social strategy, it’s important to keep a pulse on trends. To help, here are some social-media trends you need to prepare for in 2018:
 
  1. Opportunities for personalized content arise due to robust social analytics:

    Everyone likes content relevant to them, which is especially true during interaction with a brand you have a rapport with. The only thing we want is a piece of relevant content that offers something unique to us as a member of that audience. In fact, only 25% don’t care about the content while rest get really frustrated with irrelevant content.

    Personalized content for audiences is a major trend in content marketing, and same goes for social media, too. As social media platforms evolve, their analytics tools and business-specific insights and features will become more important to brands. This kind of data means marketers will have the insights to craft better and more personalized content that speaks and engages audiences.

    The need for selectivity arises as platforms’ features overlap:

    Timed videos and visual content were both features of Snapchat and Instagram, so the main points that differentiate them are the audience and reach. Compared to Snapchat, Instagram Stories has a wider reach and is more engaging. Daily opens with Instagram Stories of Instagram celebrities are up to 10 percent of their audience members, which is significantly higher than in case of Snapchat. On the other hand, Snapchat continues to entice younger demographics.

    As more platforms continue to offer overlapping features, brands and marketers will have to be more creative and selective about what to invest in. Take advantage of analytics and reporting features to identify which platforms could offer you the best return, and start there.

    Brands will be able to get through to audiences by social listening: –

    Mentions and what people are saying should be key metrics of comparison of social media performance between competitors and us.

    “Using web monitoring, we can collect an enormous amount of data on our company and our competitors that can be used in our marketing strategy. At Brand24, our research showed that in one month, 14,000 online searches started with ‘Can anyone recommend?’ and about 30,000 searches started with ‘Where can I buy?’ About 60 percent of these questions never received responses from companies; this is a huge opportunity,” says Magdalena Urbaniak, global communications manager at Brand24.

    Urbaniak says monitoring these social mentions can be an insight into the shared audience’s like and dislike, which can show how a brand can improve. Social listening can be the key advantage in social media strategy as they give you valuable information about your competitors’ performance and your own audience.

    Chatbots will be key to faster and easier customer service: –

    Instant connection and high internet penetration have prepared an adequate condition for brands to give instant feedback to the fast-growing impatient customer base. Unfortunately, this has prompted a lot of brands to do one of two things: respond so quickly that mistakes are made and service quality suffers, or freeze in their tracks because they’re not quite sure how to meet this demand for speed.

    Chatbots give you the chance to interact quickly and personally with your audience. Maybe that’s the reason why there are at least 100,000 monthly active bots on Facebook Messenger and over two billion messages per month are exchanged between brands and their audiences.

    Transient content will lead the pack: –

    Latest marketing buzzword ephemeral/transient content, in the coming years. Snapchat Stories and live streaming videos are some examples of ephemeral content today. This type of content has a short lifespan of 24 hours and then disappear. Thanks to Snapchat’s popularity this content has seen a steady rise.

    The Snapchat Discover channel of Cosmopolitan generated “more than 19 million average monthly visits.” It is interesting to note that the brand’s website generates “20 million unique visitors per month.” With 10 billion daily video views, it is one of the best platforms to reach millennials and generation Z. It’s a no surprise that Instagram and Facebook are also following the footsteps of Snapchat by providing services for distributing fleeting content.

    It’s a difficult time for marketers as it might sound scary that all efforts and money that went into creating the content which has become fleeting in nature. But the results may be quite outstanding provided content created is really interesting and have proper strategies for ephemeral content marketing. There are quite a few reasons why ephemeral content works:

    Fleeting nature of the content, like those raw clips and images available on Snapchat or Instagram, fills users with excitement and trust for the brand. A great way to show insight into forthcoming projects, showcase BTS content, offer promotions and other content that is supposed to be short-lived.

    Augmented Reality will gain more focus: –

    Apple announced the iPhone 8 and the iPhone X at the first-ever event hosted in the Steve Jobs Theater. Both devices incorporated a new chip that allows the phones to become augmented reality enabled and provide users with extraordinary experiences. While mobile gaming seems to be first affected by augmented reality, it is likely that social media platforms will find ways to incorporate the new technology as well.

    Similarly, brands could soon project their products into the homes of social media users through special filters.

    Social platforms compliance will become stringent:-  After a series of controversies that cropped up during 2016 US presidential election, social media platforms have adopted a far stringent way to govern the conduct on their respective platforms. Facebook recently turned over thousands of ads that seem to be connected to Russian meddling and has invested in new AI and human forms of monitoring.

    In 2017, Facebook and Twitter received a very wide criticism, it is likely that these platforms will embrace codes of conduct and governance policies that protect the brands from future criticism. Better compliance will not only promote better content but also safeguard the interest of the users.

Conclusion

Understanding these trends will present marketers with better opportunities to connect with the audience and create better content. These shifts are frequent, therefore understanding and staying ahead of the trend is of vital importance.

LinkedIn VS Facebook- From A Marketer’s Perspective

With the increasing number of social media platforms, as a marketer, we need to make a crucial choice of focusing our social media efforts on a limited number of platforms. This decision is vital to the existence of a brand and can make or break it as well.

In this blog post, we will discuss the difference between LinkedIn and Facebook and which platform will best help you achieve your goals and objectives.

A brief introduction of our two contestants for today:-

Facebook– People tend to spend more time on Facebook than on LinkedIn for the simple reason that it is perceived as a more ‘fun’ platform where friends are able to get together and share their thoughts and opinions over a casual post like a meme or joke. Facebook is clearly in the quantity win with over 2.07 billion monthly active users.

LinkedIn– LinkedIn, however, is a more serious platform where users log in for a specific purpose, be it recruitment, job hunting, connecting with colleagues or sharing their professional expertise on specific industry related topics. LinkedIn is far behind Facebook when it comes to the numbers game, with around 467 million members.

1. Audience Profile

Facebook– General consumers. Facebook is primarily a platform where friends and family get together to de-stress or connect with known persons. Marketers on Facebook need to keep their audience interests in mind, keeping the tone light and friendly. Create content which your audience would like to consume.

LinkedIn– Companies/organizations/businesses. LinkedIn allows users to create a professional, job-oriented profile, offering a variety of ways for a marketer to target based on seniority, job function, industry and more. Marketers on LinkedIn should keep the tone serious and professional, industry-specific and to the point. LinkedIn is primarily used by B2B businesses to connect with users in the same industry segment.

2. Analytics-

Facebook- Facebook provides real-time, built-in reports consisting data of the type of audience, their country of origin, and others ranging from likes, reach, visits, posts, people, events, videos, messages to a lot more. This data is very useful to a marketer as their job hardly ends after an advertising campaign is created. They constantly need to optimize it to achieve the best results at the lowest cost.

LinkedIn- LinkedIn does not provide extensive insights on page performance limiting to updates, interactions, clicks, impressions, reach, followers and visitors. This makes it difficult for a marketer to analyze and extract data on the performance of a LinkedIn campaign. 

3. Cost-

Facebook- Facebook gives the option to adjust how much you’re willing to pay per day (starting at Rs.40 per day), which corresponds to the number of users you reach out to. Overall, Facebook is a much cheaper option, with the average CPC of Rs. 5, being the lowest across all social media platforms. As a marketer, a lower cost is of vital importance in determining the success of an advertising campaign  

LinkedIn- LinkedIn offers a specific way to reach an audience but the cost is higher than Facebook’s. LinkedIn is said to be one of the most expensive advertising platforms in terms of average CPC of Rs.150. The minimum amount that LinkedIn will generally require you to allot for your CPC and CPM bids is Rs.100 (for either). And the minimum budget generally allotted by LinkedIn for your daily budget is Rs.500. The huge difference in cost from that of Facebook, shy away many marketers, making LinkedIn a secondary consideration. That being said, there a number of successfully launched campaigns on LinkedIn as well,  like the Volkswagen Campaign, where the results were far greater than the initial cost.

4. Branding-

Facebook- On Facebook there is a strong distinction between a user’s personal profile and a brand’s page. The content posted on a personal profile and a company’s page is completely different and unrelated. A marketer must build his company’s brand and his personal brand separately and simultaneously.

LinkedIn- On LinkedIn there is no distinction between personal and professional branding as it seamlessly integrates with each other in the form of a common profile. Through a user’s profile, it enables the audience to connect with the brand. Vice-versa if a brand posts valuable content then the employees of the brand are known as well. A marketer needs to be able to sell himself as well as his company through the use of one single profile.

5. Thought Leadership-

Facebook- Facebook is not a platform where users generally express their professional opinion but rather a light and casual conversation amongst friends. Marketers cannot hope to get their audience to pour out their expertise and insights into their industry or job.

LinkedIn- LinkedIn is the primary platform where users come together to influence others through their professional opinions. The most common place of thought leaders is LinkedIn groups where experts speak about their opinions with respect to a specific industry.

6. Marketing Objectives-

Facebook- As a marketer, Facebook provides a number of opportunities to achieve objectives such as Awareness, Consideration and Conversion but is more suitable for Direct Sales and Traffic. The level and detail of targeting on Facebook is world’s apart that of all other social media platforms, making it ideal for marketers to grow their brand.

LinkedIn- As a marketer, LinkedIn cannot be used to directly sell to your industrial buyers as users on LinkedIn login for their own personal and professional development rather than to outright buy a product or service. It will lead to a very low conversion rate and more often than not, a poor brand image.

Conclusion-

The controversy of which platform is better for marketing has been chewed over and over in the last years by marketers, entrepreneurs and bloggers.

Lately, Facebook is focusing on improving their paid marketing campaigns and continue to develop new and innovative features appealing to B2B companies and marketers alike, in a strive to reach above LinkedIn in the B2B space.

Having a deep understanding of who you are marketing to (your buyer personas) and how they use these platforms at each stage of the buyer’s journey, will enable you to become more customer-centric in your marketing.

Instead of focusing on which platform is better for your marketing strategy, simply being aware of how and when to use each on the potential journey your prospects go through before they decide to buy from you can make a dramatic shift in your marketing strategy.

 

Image Source- Hootsuite, Pear Analytics, Pinterest, Social Media Examiner.